Main Content

How to eat gluten free in Hong Kong?

Q & A

New to being gluten-free? Whether your reason was due to stomach discomfort, bloating or diagnosis with celiac disease. I’m here to help you out on how you can easily go gluten-free in Hong Kong.

Let me start off by listing some surprising foods that have gluten that you should avoid.

  • Soy sauce (contains wheat) 
  • Meat substitutes (some are made out of wheat gluten instead of soy) 
  • French Fries (usually floured before frying) 
  • Canned baked beans (sauces might contain gluten)
  • Oats (can be contaminated during processing, look for gluten-free brands) 
  • Soups (thickening agents might contain gluten, especially in canned and cream-based soups)
  • Rice puffs (may contain malt extract)

If these are some of the foods you frequently ate before, don’t worry, there are gluten-free alternatives. For example, you can use coconut aminos instead of soy sauce and gluten-free oats instead of the regular brands.

Make sure to always check the nutrition label for any hidden gluten-containing ingredients! Here are some ingredients you can look out for that would indicate the presence of gluten: 

  • Wheat (the obvious one) 
  • Rye 
  • Barley 
  • Grain 
  • Whole grain
  • Semolina
  • Malt 
  • Wheat starch (Unless otherwise specified to be below 20 parts per million of gluten in the product, a level safe for consumption by celiac disease patients. It should be clearly indicated on the nutrition label if this is the case) 

If you’re starting out (or even if you’ve been well onto it for a while) and want to have a little help in having gluten-free meals, here at Eatology we offer gluten free recipes to help make having a gluten free diet a tad bit easier. Food will be delivered right to your doorstep, it’s easy, convenient and not to mention mouth-wateringly delicious! Don’t believe me, try it out yourself! You’re just a click, https://www.eatologyasia.com/ or a call away, +852-2368 6331.

References: 

Celiac Disease Foundation.Retrieved from: https://celiac.org/live-gluten-free/glutenfreediet/sources-of-gluten/ 

Attribution for photo: <a href=’https://www.freepik.com/free-vector/gluten-free-badge_810221.htm’>Designed by Freepik</a>